Album of the Week #38:

Today marks the 20th anniversary of Nirvana’s groundbreaking album Nevermind. There have been so many blogs, news stories, articles, interviews and tweets about this over the past couple months. I’ve heard more about this anniversary than I have about any and all new music being released this year combined.

I could structure this blawg by talking about how influential this album has been, and how it forever changed the face of alternative rock and roll, but there are hundreds of other sources that have been doing exactly that for 20 years. And honestly, who am I to be telling you how this album made a difference, I was two years old when it was released. Even throughout high school, I only knew a few Nirvana singles. It wasn’t until after high school that I came to learn the genius of Kurt, and what the band accomplished.

What amazes me is how the music community came together in such a strong way to remember this album after 20 years. There is so much recognition and admiration for this album, I am completely blown away. Not that it doesn’t deserve every word, because it does. It’s just a fantastic response to the anniversary, in my opinion.

Anyways, this is all I want to do for it as well. I want to recognize it, admire it, and encourage you to spend half an hour this week and just listen to it, front to back, if you haven’t already. It will be forever carved in history.

-dav-

Leave a Reply

