Album of the Week #26:
So I’ve been thinking about these posts a bit, and I decided there isn’t much structure to them. Somewhere down a non-linear path of words I get around to either telling a story about why I like the band, or briefly describe their style, or sometimes I just sit here listening to the Album of the Week and before I know it there is a 900 word blog in front of me that doesnt talk about anything in particular.
Kind of like now.
So, Collective Soul. Their self titled album is their second of 10, and is my personal favorite. That being said, I haven’t heard all 10, but I’m going to claim this as their best anyways. Hey, at least I’m exercising full disclosure with you. I could just lie and say I know their whole discography front to back. I’d sound much more knowledgeable and generally well rounded in terms of alternative rock history, but then I’d be lying to those of you who actually bother reading these things. That would be just rude.
I’m going to make my way back to being on topic here, but it may take a paragraph or two, so bear with me:
Back in 1996, my music knowledge or appreciation was next to none. In retrospect tho, I can kind of see why. All I was exposed to was occasional Country 105 on the radio and a weekly piano lesson, which quite frankly probably wasn’t my favorite activity. It wasn’t until my best friend Daniel and I started listening to his older sisters CD collection that (good) music stood a chance at entering my life. Well, I’m twisting the story again, so let me offer another full disclosure moment. It was mostly Dan who would listen to the music and appreciate it for what it was. At the time, I just sat there listening to it because I was there.
I remember meeting up with Daniel outside school, and he had just come back from his first concert (yes, it was Collective Soul, keep up people!). A crowd of our friends had gathered around to hear him talk about the experience. He said something along the lines of how it was one of the best nights of his life, and then something along the lines of how his ears were ringing. During all this, I remember specifically thinking that it was really awesome. But I also remember specifically thinking that I would never be one to understand and appreciate music enough to actually go see it preformed live.
Ha! Silly little grade 2 me, if only you knew then what you’d became today.
You know those plants that, if you water and sun them correctly, they grow like mad in all directions? That’s my my music appreciation today. And it’s all thanks to the seed Daniel planted in a pot of what seemed like unforgiving dry soil all those years ago. (it’s a metaphor guys. just pretend you are understanding). What I am getting at, is that only recently have I gone and explored that leaf (Collective Soul) that is oh so deep down, close to the original stem. It was buried under a forest of newer leaves I grew on my own, and as a result, it was forgotten. It is only now that I am giving it the sunlight it needs, the appreciation it deserves.
I don’t care who you are, Collective Soul is a solid piece of your 90’s. I mean, I didn’t even like music in 90’s and the are still a solid piece of mine. Go take a listen. Remember. If not for me, at least do it for your 90’s self. They’ll appreciate it.
Eyeball.fm link: Collective Soul
Album Singles: December, Where the River Flows, The World I Know, Gel, Smashing Young Man
Dav Suggests: The World I Know, Gel, She Gathers Rain, Where the River Flows, Untitled
Other Songs (on other albums): Shine (Hints Allegations and Things Left Unsaid), Heavy (Dosage), Counting the Days (Youth), New Vibrations (Afterwords)
bbb
Emerging from the low-key club scene with their hit single “Shine”, Collective Soul never looked back from there. Their self titled album after that had 6 singles in the top 10. After that, they band was hit and miss for the next few albums. Early 2000’s had them finding a new lead guitarist, as well as a new independent record label. From there, they’ve been releasing a steady stream of singles popping up on charts throughout the decade.
fff
The song ‘December’ as well as their whole 3rd album, Disciplined Breakdown, was influenced by the struggles they were having with their manager. He had claimed publishing rights on their music, so despite selling upwards of 5 million albums, they were living off of $150 a week while on tour. Thats almost as bad as my Buzz Lightyear Budget!! The whole thing went to court, but both parties were instructed not to discuss the outcome.
Imagine that though, being one of the biggest rockstars of the day and getting absolutely nothing for it. I’d be pissed.
-dav-
alex is having a luxury-of-toilet-paper day.
in memory of it, as it seemed to have disappeared lately. tom having 7 chipotle burritos in 4 days may or may not have been a factor.
leaving you with that pleasant thought, i wish you all a happy valentines day.
oh, and i have just been informed that alex will be crying himself to sleep because of it.
–valentines day, that is.
One response »

  1. bloggerx says:

    I still dont know how to feel about that night…loosing my phone and being part of a racheal rachel sandwich are kind of balencing any thoughs i have. lolo yeah collective soul = win

Leave a Reply

