Album of the Week #18:
Happiness is an emotion. We feel happy. Sadness is an emotion. We feel sad. But what about music? What if I was to call it an emotion? Sure, we download music, we hear music, we play music, but do we feel music like we feel happy?
Let me just ask you this. What do you call it when you turn up the volume when that insane bridge of your favorite song comes. What do you call the expression on the musicians face when they are lost in their own solo. What is that feeling? I’ll give you a hint. It’s not happiness. It’s not concentration. It’s not any emotion defined in the english language. It is the emotion of music. Like happiness and sadness, we feel music.
So what does this have to do with Album of the Week #18? 30 Seconds to Mars’ second album A Beautiful Lie takes this emotion ‘music’ and exaggerates it. It plays heavily on contrast in the songs. Quiet bits that have an almost ‘underwater’ sound to them, and then it explodes into loud parts with static effects on the vocals to make it seem louder than it is.
Last week (when I should have posted this Album of the Week) was exam time. Studying seems to lead my playlists consist of this ‘exaggerated emotion’ type music. Still not sure why, but bands like 30 Seconds to Mars or Emery always seem to come forward for me. I think it has to do with my levels of concentration. I’m less focused on what I’m hearing and more on what I’m studying, so running this music in the background is easier to ‘feel’ without focusing on it.
Anyways, give it a listen. I’m curious if you can see where I’m coming from with this whole music emotion concept.
Eyeball.fm link: 30 Seconds to Mars
Album Singles: The Kill, A Beautiful Lie
Dav Suggests: Attack, The Kill, Was It A Dream?
Actor Jared Leto is the lead singer and songwriter for this 3 (sometimes 4) member group out of LA. Most of you would know him as the guy in Requiem For A Dream, or the really blonde character Fight Club. I didn’t think too much of their first album, and I haven’t given their latest album (This Is War) a shot yet. It’s on my to-do list. Maybe even my Christmas list.
I know I missed out on Album of the Week last week, so I will be posting 2 this week. I wasn’t letting myself off that easy.
-dav-
alex is having a ‘feel like death’ day. food poisoning i think?
Leave a Reply

