Album of the Week #16:

Before I begin, let me make one thing clear. I am not normally a fan of ‘greatest hits’ albums. They are just compilations of overplayed radio singles thrown together on a CD for quick and easy money. Sometimes the band will throw on one new song or something, just to make it sell, but overall, they are unnatural. The artists did not intend for you to listen to the songs in that order. They are afterthoughts, basically destroying the whole concept of an album. Albums are made to be listened to straight through, beginning to end, without skipping over the less popular songs. An exaggerated example of the point I am trying to make is that it’s like watching those movie scene compilations instead of just the movie itself.

Now, after saying all that, I am going to talk about Album of the Week #16, which is, hypocritically of me, a greatest hits release.

I can explain, I swear.

Retrospectacle, The Supertramp Anthology, is what has made me realise how amazing Supertramp is. It has inspired me to go out and find their actual albums and listen to them properly, beginning to end, as these songs was originally intended; in these songs’ natural habitat, if you will.

Supertramp is among the great bands we remember pre-1989 (why 1989? well I was born then, so its as good of a reference point as any, I’d say). 50 years down the road, there are very few of today’s bands that are actually going to be remembered. I mean, probably 90% of my Album of the Week artists are going to be unheard of by our grandchildren. Sad, but true.

What I am getting at here, is that something is to be said about a band that can stand the test of time; that can stay solid as everything and everyone around it is washed away into the unforgiving sands of time. Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Rolling Stones, the list could go on. But I chose Supertramp because they are my favorite of them all, and personally, I think they are, in general, underrated. Think about it for a second: School, Bloody Well Right, Dreamer, The Logical Song, Breakfast in America. All unbelievable songs, and those are just the songs being overplayed on classic rock stations. Retrospectacles two disc set has 32 in total! And again, thats just their greatest hits anthology. I am definitely moving onto their originally released versions like Crime Of The Century, Breakfast In America, Even In The Quietest Moments….
I know there are obviously Supertramp fans out there going “umm, yeah, you should do that already!” but for those of you who arent, start like me. Check out Retrospectacle. Realize as I did how good this band is. And go from there.
Eyeball.fm link: Supertramp
Singles: (well its a greatest hits. I’m not naming them alll)
Dav Suggests: You Win I Lose, Another Mans Woman, Your Poppa Don’t Mind, Crime Of The Century
One more thing while I still have the spotlight on Supertramp. And this is just a little story to tell you how far I have come, in terms of music. 5 or so years ago, I hadn’t even heard of Supertramp. Bloody Well Right was playing on the radio, and it sounded vaguely familiar. Alex and I are out in the rain working on some construction project, and we decide it was familiar because the singer sounded like Kermit the Frog. The muppet.
Yeah, now because I let you in on that little secret from forever ago, none of you are going to trust my opinion on music.
I’ve grown, I swear! Seriously, I’ve done a huge blog post alll about Supertramp to make up for it!
-dav-
alex has a job now. so I dont know what the alex day is today
2 responses »

  1. aaronrgod says:

    "Alex is a tall bastard who fuels me with Jagermeister" day?

Leave a Reply

