Album of the Week #15:

By attending a competitive film program in Toronto, I am most likely rubbing shoulders with (if I have any faith in my classmate’s talents and determination) some leaders in the film industry of tomorrow. On another front, a few friends I have made over the years, going as far back as elementary school even, have shown serious potential to go far with their lives.

Despite all those potentially famous people I know, I think it is safe to say that right now, as it stands, my friend’s friends band who’s show I went to this past weekend is the closest to fame, in terms of people I know (well, by 2 degrees of separation. close enough). They have the most potential to make it big. (I said as it stands, so don’t go hating me for not having faith in you….you just missed my whole point. put a leash on that ego, geez).

Basically, what I am trying to say, is that this show blew my mind!!

The band is called The Miles. My expectations were fairly positive going into it, since the show was recommended by a good source of mine –aaron. But ‘positive expectations’ and what actually went down in the MOD Club that night were two very different things. What did it for me was the quality of the show. This show was free for anybody on the Facebook guest list, and the cover at the door was only 5 or 10 dollars. But all that aside, it made show’s I’ve paid as much as 30 dollars for in the past look like shit. This had an energetic set list. The band members had personality. The performance was tight as ever. The lights made it visually insane. The songs themselves were fun, creative, and memorable. What more could you ask for. And for free?? I am a full time audience member at any of their shows from now on, rain or shine, any ticket price. It was that good.

The whole experience was topped off when I bought their CD after the show. It came attached to old pieces of records as a ‘CD case’, if you will. Very cool.


Right when I got home, I downloaded it to my computer, and instantly recognized most of the songs from earlier that night. If I had any original complaints about this debut album, Blood On My Blazer, they would be that it does not do the show justice. It is still amazing, definitely, but their live show is just something you cannot replicate in your headphones. Unfortunate, but true nonetheless.

Besides that one complaint, the album is flawless. Extremely catchy tunes. Original sound. There are moments on it that quite simply need to be played over and over again. If I had to describe them, I would say they go from sounding like anything from The B52’s (Rock Lobster), to the Tokyo Police Club, to the Arctic Monkeys. Their lyrics consist heavily of love triangles and lust, but at the same time they are able to keep it original. Overall, I give it 5 stars, 10 out of 10, full marks -however you rate albums these days. Highly recommended.


Dav Suggests: Not At All, Murder, Can I Speak To Shawna, Stingray

For some reason, Eyeball.fm was unable to find them, so I will link you to their Myspace page. Take a listen:

Myspace link: THE MILES

If you like what you hear (which, how can you not??) and are interested in getting ahold of their album Blood On My Blazer for just $10, send me an email (fyfeblawg@gmail.com) and I will see what I can do to hook you up!

-dav-

alex is having a thin arm day

Leave a Reply

